Louisiana and the Louisiana Purchase

Louisiana, the state, was only a small portion of what was the Louisiana Purchase. The original Louisiana Purchase is made up fifteen states and parts of states including: Arkansas, Colorado*, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana*, Minnesota*, Montana*, Nebraska, New Mexico*, North Dakota*, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas* and Wyoming*. Those states marked with an asterisk (*) are the states which had only a portion of their final boundaries within the Louisiana Purchase.

Louisiana, the state, evolved from the Orleans Territory of the Louisiana Purchase from France, and portions of Spain's Florida and Texas ceded to the United States and then combined to make the state of Louisiana.

Return to Spanish Texas>